Ballydonoghue Community Development Committee

After discovering that Limerick Youth Service were going to divest themselves of the centre at Ballyloughran a public meeting was called and held at Tomasín’s on Friday night the 10th of April.

Over 70 people attended the meeting.  A survey was distributed on the night which asked whether the community should attempt to acquire the facility for the use of the parish and asked people to volunteer.  There were over sixty responses and all were in the affirmative to the prospect of acquiring the facility.  Forty people volunteered by signing up to participate in any committees or fundraising activities that may be required.

Given the overwhelmingly positive response to the survey and the level of commitment shown it was decided to hold a second meeting on the night of Saturday the 18th April with the objective of forming a committee to approach Limerick Youth Service.

Ballydonoghue Community Development Committee was formed at the public meeting held on Saturday 18th April 2015, with the following executive elected on the night:

Ballydonoghue Community Development Committee

From left to right:
Assistant-secretary: Aisling Enright, Ballyloughran
Secretary: Colleen Barrett, Ballyconry
PRO: Noelle Hegarty, Loughanes
Chair: Mike Gilbert, Ballydonoghue Lower
Treasurer: Conor Foley, Ballyloughran
Vice-chair: Brendan Cullen, Killomeroe
Assistant-treasurer: Mike Kissane, Moybella North

It was agreed on the night that the executive should be expanded with members being nominated by each voluntary organisation in the parish.

If you wish to get in touch with, or have any suggestions for the committee please contact any of the members individually or email

This entry was posted in Ballyloughran, BCDC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply